Feathers from the Fall


Read

Reminisce

Resonate





[Acquaintances]

Lizzyfer

Crackbaby

Doktor Von Psycho

OD 1.27.2002 [11:35 p.m.]

Translation of an AWESOME song. Ping me up if you want an MP3.

==

here you go. there's actually two versions of this song - one in mandarin chinese, one in cantonese. the one i sent you (below) is mandarin, and following that is the cantonese version. the lyrics are actually really different, heh.

Who said this weak light

Is the glow of fireflies?

Who asked whom to admire

This evanescent legend?

Dreams abandoned unfold endlessly

Balloons rising to the sky always burst

Don�t be sad, don�t be sad

There is no reason - there is only the result

By day you can�t even see me

But by night there is only you and I

And if your light is gone

Hold on to this firefly

To illuminate your darkness

Yet to this day you refuse to kiss me

Then, at least affirm my status:

A radiance that cannot be extinguished

Burning itself to ash

Just so the firefly you once loved

Will never fail

Let the lantern in the forest

Shine for the night alone

Let this disintegrating passion

Transform into beauty and air

Dreams left behind unfold endlessly

Balloons abandoned to the sky always burst

Don�t be sad, don�t be sad

There is no reason - there is only the result

By day you won�t even see me

By night there is only you and I

And if your light is gone

Hold on to this firefly

To illuminate your darkness

Yet to this day you refuse to kiss me

Then, at least affirm my status:

A radiance that cannot be extinguished

Burning itself to ash

Just so that the firefly you once loved

Will never fail

Will never fail

A radiance that cannot be extinguished

Burning itself to ash:

Please consider my beauty, my faithfulness

Don't forget me

*****

If happiness were as shortlived as dew drops

Use reflections for bedsheets

In that early summer of leftover t-shirts

Treat heaven as the realm of mortals

If our joyous reunion were worth being happy for

We would still lead fulfilling lives even after parting

Come chip away, come burn to ash, come shatter to dust

My life

I will transform into a firefly

I will think of you as a rainbow

[That] cannot be touched

But can be believed in

Reeds shudder and sigh because of this

I've forgotten that I am a firefly

I've fallen in love with the red lantern*

I cannot share the warmth

Yet I will still cast my light

Until time, flowing like gold,

Lingers in the heavens

Let me incandesce without reason

[And] embellish the shop window of this universe

Let the reflection that falls like flowing sand

Enkindle the incense in the dark

I will transform into a firefly

I will think of you as a rainbow

[That] cannot be touched

But can be believed in

Reeds shudder because of this

I've forgotten that I am a firefly

I've fallen in love with the red lantern*

I cannot share the warmth

Yet I will still cast my light

Until time, flowing like gold,

Lingers in the heavens

Lingers in the heavens

I cannot share the warmth

Yet I will still cast my light

Let me dance like sparks from a fire

And then disappear

*Note: A man with many wives lights a red lantern in front of the house of whichever concubine he is spending the night with. Lin Xi must be referring to this particular "red lantern" in the lyrics.

*****

heh. i think i like the mandarin version better...though the second has some great lines, too.



-=[Be Heard]=- -=[Herald]=- -=[Strangers]=-